Merely implementing agile practices can be done quickly, but is rarely sustainable. The agile coaching pillar of my work is helping you to enable agile ways of working throughout your organization by fostering agile mindsets. Agile coaching is more than just telling people how to do things – it’s convincing them why certain practices work and helping them internalize the underlying motivation of said practices.

My agile coaching always starts with “Why”. Together we will make impediments visible, escalate known and unknown problems. I’m supporting you in overcoming these challenges one by one and finding long-term sustainable solutions. This way, together we’ll be supporting the organization in setting itself up for success, enabling individuals, teams and the whole organization to move faster, implement highly efficient working and communication routines and get shit done.

The building blocks in this category can be roughly structured into

  • (Agile) Organizational design and -structure
  • Coaching
  • Mentoring

Scope: From team to company level, from individual contributor to C-level

Time: From a few days (kickoff workshop + initial coaching) to 3-6 months on site (incl. mentoring of key roles)

Agile organizational design and -structure

To me agile ways of working means first and foremost enabling better (faster and smoother) collaboration between different practices (functions) within a project. In most cases this means forming cross-functional teams. These teams ideally need to be collocated or – given the challenges of the times we live in – aligned around a tool set that enables remote work and building strong team relationships.

In order to enable these agile ways of working it might sometimes be necessary to do changes to the organization’s structure. Depending on the nature of the assignment these changes can be local and temporary (experiment), local and permanent (pilot) or global and permanent (rollout).

Agile Coaching

Under the umbrella of Agile Coaching I’m helping companies overcome organizational challenges. The main goal of Agile Coaching is transitioning an organization to better suit agile ways of working by adopting a (more) agile mindset.
The challenges, companies are facing, are often quite specific at a first glance, since each organization is made unique by the people within it. If those people are to follow agile principles, the solutions we’ll find together will have common denominators in the broad set of agile best practices. How long an Agile Coaching engagement is, entirely depends on how much or how little the organization has internalized agile values:

If those values are widely accepted and what’s missing are organizational prerequisites, Agile Coaching is task-based and can be a short-term engagement: Accompanying organizational changes, implementing these agile best practices in order to take (and keep) people on board. We need to address real problems and show results quickly. Without this, we lose people’s trust in the change and thus the leaders who support it. We must not lose people’s motivation or we will eventually lose them as employees. Agile Coaching is key to enabling (parts of) the organization to not simply “deal with” said changes, but to utilize them to achieve better results.

The adoption of agile values is a change in mindset and behavior. If the majority of an organization has not yet done that shift, performance and happiness of teams will be subpar, even though all organizational prerequisites are met. In this case the shift can be huge and Agile Coaching will be a mid- to long-term endeavor.

Mentoring

Mentoring is based on relationships and rather long-term. It’s primary objective is learning and (self-) development. Ideally this starts with key people in the organization or key people in the current change process. We’ll talk about currently relevant challenges and will reflect on possible solutions, drafting from past experiences iterating and improving.

Mentoring is not exclusive to people within a change process. Taking some time out of one’s busy schedule to reflect on problems, potential remedies and also one’s own behaviors around these holds tremendous potential. Not being alone in this process, but sparring with an experienced mentor (and coach, ScrumMaster, project manager and everything mentioned above) help unlock and utilize this potential.

Agile Praktiken implementieren ist schnell gemacht, aber selten nachhaltig. Der Agile Coaching-Aspekt meiner Arbeit ist darauf ausgerichtet, agile Arbeitsweisen in Ihrer Organisation zu verbreiten, in dem wir agile Denkweisen fördern. Agiles Coaching ist mehr als nur Menschen zu erzählen, wie Dinge zu tun sind. Es geht darum, sie zu überzeugen, warum bestimmte Praktiken funktionieren und ihnen zu helfen, die zugrunde liegende Motivation besagter Praktiken zu verinnerlichen.

Mit meinem agilen Coaching setze ich daher stets beim „Warum“ an. Gemeinsam werden wir Hindernisse sichtbar machen und auf bekannte und bisher unbekannte Probleme stoßen. Ich unterstütze Sie dabei, diese Herausforderungen zu bewältigen und Stück für Stück nachhaltige Lösungen zu finden. So bringen wir gemeinsam die Organisation in die Erfolgsspur für zukünftige Aufgaben. Wir befähigen Individuen, Teams und das gesamte Unternehmen, schneller zu agieren, hocheffiziente Arbeits- und Kommunikationsroutinen zu nutzen und Dinge fertig zu kriegen.

Die Bausteine dieser Kategorie lassen sich grob unterteilen in

  • Agile Organisationsstruktur und -design
  • Coaching
  • Mentoring

Umfang: Von Teambereich zu unternehmensweit, vom Mitarbeiter zur Führungsebene

Zeit: Von ein paar Tagen (Auftakt-Seminar + anfängliches Coaching) bis zu 3-6 Monaten vor Ort (inkl. Mentoring/Beratung von Schlüsselrollen

Agile Organisationsstruktur und -design

Agile Arbeitsweisen bedeuten für mich in erster Linie bessere (schnellere und reibungslosere) Zusammenarbeit zwischen verschiedenen Funktionen innerhalb eines Projekts sicherzustellen. In den meisten Fällen erfordert das die Zusammenstellung crossfunktionaler Teams. Diese Teams sollten zusammen sitzen oder — angesichts der Herausforderungen unserer Zeit — Ihre Zusammenarbeit auf Werte und Werkzeuge stützen, die remote Arbeit ermöglicht und stärkere Beziehungen innerhalb des Teams fördert.

Agile Organisations-Veränderungen

Um diese agilen Arbeitsweisen zu etablieren, kann es manchmal notwendig sein, die Organisationsstruktur zu verändern. Je nach Umfang des Auftrags können diese Veränderungen lokal und temporär sein (Experiment), lokal und permanent (Pilotprojekt) oder global und permanent (Einführung).

Agiles Coaching

Unter dem Aspekt Agilen Coachings helfe ich Unternehmen, organisatorische Herausforderungen zu überwinden. Das Hauptziel Agilen Coachings ist es, agiles Arbeiten möglich zu machen oder zu verbessern und agile Denkweisen zu fördern.

Die Herausforderungen, vor denen Unternehmen heutzutage stehen, sind oft auf den ersten Blick sehr spezifisch, da jede Organisation einzigartig ist, allein durch die Mitarbeiter, die sie formen. Wenn wir agile Denkweisen (das sog. “agile mindset”) etablieren wollen, müssen die situationsspezifischen Lösungen, die wir zusammen finden einen gemeinsamen Nenner in dem breiten Spektrum agiler Praktiken haben. Wie lang ein Agiles Coaching-Engagement dauert, hängt daher stark davon ab, wie wenig oder wie stark die Organisation agile Werte bereits verinnerlicht hat:


Kurzfristiges, aufgabenorientiertes Agile Coaching:

Wenn diese Werte weitestgehend etabliert sind und lediglich organisatorische Voraussetzungen fehlen, ist Agiles Coaching stark aufgabenorientiert und kann ein kurzfristiges Engagement sein: Organisatorische Veränderungen begleiten, agile Praktiken etablieren, um möglichst viele Leute mitzunehmen und zu begeistern. Wir müssen reale Probleme angehen und schnell Ergebnisse vorweisen. Passiert das nicht, verlieren wir das Vertrauen der Teams in die Veränderung und damit in die Führungskräfte, die diese Veränderung unterstützen. Wenn wir die Motivation der Menschen verlieren, verlieren wir sie über kurz oder lang auch als Mitarbeiter. Agiles Coaching ist somit der Schlüssel, damit die Organisation nicht nur “mit der Veränderung umgeht”, sondern sie nutzt, um bessere Ergebnisse zu erzielen.

Langfristiges, werteorientiertes Agile Coaching:

Agile Werte anzunehmen ist eine Veränderung in Denkweisen und Verhalten. Wenn die Mehrheit der Menschen im Unternehmen, diesen Schalter noch nicht umgelegt hat, werden Gesamtleistung und Zufriedenheit in Teams immer unterdurchschnittlich sein, selbst wenn alle organisatorischen Voraussetzungen gegeben sind. In diesem Fall ist die Veränderung riesig und Agiles Coaching eine mittel- bis langfristige Aufgabe.


Umfang: Von Team bis unternehmensweit, von Coaching einzelner Mitarbeiter und Teams bis C-Level Coaching

Zeit: Von wenigen Tagen (Auftakt-Workshop + regelmäßiges Coaching) bis 3-6 Monaten vor Ort

Mentoring

Mentoring basiert auf der Beziehung zwischen Mentor und Mentee und ist daher eher langfristig. Hauptziele sind Wissenstransfer und Persönlichkeitsentwicklung. Idealerweise beginnt Mentoring mit Schlüsselpersonen innerhalb der Organisation oder des aktuellen Veränderungsprozesses. Wir besprechen aktuelle Herausforderungen und reflektieren über mögliche Lösungen, basierend auf vergangenen Erfahrungen aus denen wir lernen und Verbesserungen ableiten.

Mentoring ist natürlich nicht exklusiv für Menschen innerhalb eines Veränderungsprozesses. Eine operative Pause in unseren super vollen Kalendern zu planen und durchzuatmen ist immer gut. Dabei über Probleme und mögliche Lösungen zu reflektieren, sowie über das eigene Verhalten diese beiden betreffend, hat enormes Potenzial. Nicht allein zu sein, sondern im sparring mit einem erfahrenen Mentor (und Coach, ScrumMaster, Projektmanager und allem zuvor genannten) hilft, dieses Potenzial auszuschöpfen.

Kontakt